Nothing in
your cart

Donate العربية

Human Relief Foundation

Which 8 types of people can receive Zakat?

Which 8 types of people can receive your Zakat?


The Holy Qur’an (9:60) specifies eight categories for the distribution of Zakat:

  • The poor
  • The needy
  • Zakat collectors
  • Those who have converted to Islam and are in need
  • Those in slavery
  • Those in debt
  • In the way of Allah
  • The traveller
The alms are meant only for the poor and the needy and those who are in charge thereof, those whose hearts are to be reconciled, and to free those in bondage, and to help those burdened with debt, and for expenditure in the Way of Allah and for the wayfarer. This is an obligation from Allah. Allah is All-Knowing, All-Wise.” (Quran 9:60)
Who will you give Zakat to this Ramadan?

Here at Human Relief Foundation, our  Zakat Policy is always 100% according to Islamic principles. This means that 100% of your Zakat will go towards those eligible to receive Zakat.

Over almost 30 years your Zakat has allowed us to tackle poverty throughout the world – from Kashmir to Iraq, Palestine, Yemen, Syria, Bangladesh, and many other areas. Your charity has helped fund crucial projects, and directly touched the lives, and relieved the suffering, of many millions of ordinary people caught in humanitarian crises.

Are you eligible for Zakat?

Are you eligible to pay Zakat? Please scroll down to our calculator. 

You can also find more Q&As on our Zakat page by clicking here.

Calculate Your Zakat

Enter all assets that have been in your possession over a lunar year in the boxes below.

Nisab values

Please select the nisab value as gold or silver, or use your own value

Gold nisab


Silver nisab


Gold & Silver




Business Assets




Your current assets are worth


The value of your payable Zakat is


Sign Up Today

Become a subscriber to our email newsletters for the latest news and updates.